Friday, July 12, 2013

Mind games and over training

Well my Brain beat me this morning. I ran last night with no real problems other than it was 9 pm. I got up this morning, breakfast and then out. It took me an hour though. My tires were a bit flat (no pump) and I was still tired from last night. Things went down hill fast and I turned round after 2 miles. The thought of beating myself up and then being in work for 9:15 was too much. Stress at home, Stress with the new job (Trying to make an impression), Stress with beating the living daylights out of myself on the bike and beer fest organization. Normally I can compartmentalize whatever I'm doing into smaller goals but some days as today is a Tsunami of commitments. This has been coming and expected as it goes with the territory of over training, next week the schedule evens out.

I might make the cycle up tonight in the 90 degree heat but will that set me up for a fail on the run tomorrow? I said before it 10% grind and 90% mind. This week it couldn't be truer! The body is willing, kind of.

The good news is I have been able to sleep the last 2 nights and getting up at 6 is getting easier. I plan to get up then at the weekends too just to knock my body into a new schedule.

The swims are getting better. I'm committed to this and will give it everything I have, will it be enough? Time will tell.

No comments:

Post a Comment